Salad my way

April 8, 2012 § 1 Comment

I usually eat a big salad for lunch, made from the usual lettuces and whatever else I can find in the fridge. Today I had leftover sweet potato fries, half an avocado, carrots, a roasted beet, Italian parsley, cilantro, kale and romaine lettuce. I really wanted my old standby, a fresh egg sauteed in coconut oil and sprinkled with Herbs de Provence, so as that was cooking I made the salad: I chopped the kale and romaine (roll the leaves into a log and slice/chop). Then I grated the carrot, peeled and sliced the beet and avocado and added the rest. Tossed the salad with my homemade salad dressing, then egg on top.

Pretty simple, right?

There is always a jar of homemade salad dressing in my fridge. There’s no need to buy this, making your own dressing is so easy and better for you too. I use extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice, a touch of mustard and one smashed garlic clove. Use twice the amount of oil to your lemon juice. You can substitute red wine vinegar in place of the lemon juice if you like. I keep it in the fridge and take it out before I start to assemble my salad.

Oh yes, and some grated Parmesan on top of it all is divine!

You can make this for a light and easy dinner too. Think about roasting some veggies the night before to add to your salad the next day. Instead of the Parmesan, sprinkle some feta cheese onto your egg as it’s cooking. Of course some crumbled bacon would be delicious….you get the idea!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Salad my way

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Salad my way at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

