Goings on at the Farm

April 16, 2012 § 3 Comments

Spring is really here this time.

The garlic has sprouted and is a few inches tall.

The rhubarb is up, all twisted and gnarly. Looking forward to my first batch of rhubarb ginger marmalade.

Took a walk up the hill to see if the wild ramps are up too. And yes, they are! Wild ramp whereabouts are usually a highly guarded secret, and I’ll be going to my secret spot this weekend to pick a bagful. Ramps are wonderful just sauteed in a little olive oil and butter, sprinkled with a good flaky sea salt.

It’s still too early here in Vermont to plant most things though I did plant some arugula today.

Next comes the radishes, I like D’Avignon . Then the lettuces, some Asian greens, and before long cucumbers, I’m trying Damascus this year.

Zucchini and tomatoes, tomatoes and more tomatoes.

In the meantime I’m waiting for the asparagus to poke up….

Illustration by me

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to Goings on at the Farm

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Goings on at the Farm at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

