Mother’s Day Special

May 13, 2012 § 4 Comments

Sheila, my sister since I married her brother, and I were talking on the phone today, Mother’s Day, and we both spent the day in the garden. Days like this are heaven here in Vermont, warm but not too warm, cool in the shade, no bugs. A bit breezy, perfect for digging in the dirt. I mentioned my new favorite drink, of the cocktail variety, and that I was going to make myself one after digging all day. I use Reed’s ginger ale, kind of spicy, not too sweet, perfect all by itself actually, but why not spice things up a bit with something alcoholic? It is Mother’s Day after all and we deserve it!

So here’s the recipe… is that what they call it when it’s an alcoholic beverage? It sounds a bit off calling it a recipe, but here it is. And I don’t think there’s a name for this so I’ll call it the “Gin and Trowel”….what do you think?

Get yourself a nice goblet, fill it with ice cubes. Then add Reed’s Ginger Ale, fill about halfway. Next add 2 ounces of good quality gin. Squeeze the juice from half an orange, you’ll want a little less than 1/4 cup, then take half a lemon and squeeze that into your glass. Slice a piece of it and add it. Rip up a few pieces of mint, throw that in there too.

That’s it, enjoy, and here’s to all the mothers out there!

And thank you Sheila for the suggestion to write this post!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Mother’s Day Special

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mother’s Day Special at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

