Crispy Wild Salmon Cakes

June 13, 2012 § 1 Comment

 

I’ll get to the recipe in a minute, but first I have to say a word about salmon.

I love salmon, more specifically fresh wild salmon. Wild salmon is such a healthy food, loaded with Omega 3’s, high in protein and Vit B 12. But it is becoming a rare treat these days. Even though you may find it at some higher end markets, according to the NY Times chances are the wild salmon you are paying an arm and a leg for is not that at all, but farmed.

And farmed salmon is not something you want to eat. There are plenty of articles written on this and most people know about the PCB’s, antibiotics and other chemicals these farmed fish contain. And soon salmon will be genetically modified as well.

This is all very disturbing to me. Although they say the benefits of eating farmed salmon outweigh the risks, the thought of eating chemically laden, GMO fish, well I just can’t do it. So I won’t be buying or ordering ‘wild salmon’ again. Luckily, a good alternative is canned salmon, as it is almost always wild caught. A good source is the Wild Planet brand, which is sold in health food stores and also here.

Canned salmon is a great pantry staple. Keep some on hand and when you don’t know what to make for dinner or want something different, you can whip up these tasty salmon cakes in no time. Makes a great lunch, brunch, or just mix the salmon with chopped celery, capers, a little red onion, add a little mayonnaise, and serve on a bed of greens.

Here’s the recipe:

1 can (14.75 oz) canned salmon, drained, or 3 small 5 oz cans

1/2 cup bread crumbs

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1 shallot, minced

1 egg

pinch of pepper

olive oil for sauteing

For the cakes:

Mix together the salmon, bread crumbs, mayonnaise, shallot, egg and pinch of pepper. You can taste it at this point and see if it needs salt. I didn’t add any to mine, the salmon is salty enough for me.

Shape into cakes. Put some extra breadcrumbs on a plate (about 3/4 cup) and coat the cakes evenly.

In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium heat and when nice and hot, add the cakes and fry about 5 minutes per side.

And that’s it. These are also really good the next day, served on a bun with mayo and lettuce.

 

Makes 4 cakes

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Crispy Wild Salmon Cakes

  • Margit von Fekete- Waimon says:

    I often find myself on your site for dinner ideas. I happen to have a can of salmon and the rest of the ingredients. It was so easy and they were the best I ever tasted. Light and flavorful. While I was at it I made the vegetable soup. I threw everything into the mix that I found in the frig, then when it had cooled down I put 1/2 into the blender and blended it for a few minutes. This gives it a creamy consistency…cream of vegetable.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crispy Wild Salmon Cakes at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

