Pear Salad with Duck Bacon

July 6, 2012 § 2 Comments

I love salads but sometimes I don’t always feel like putting one together. I don’t know why, maybe it’s the hot weather making me lazy. Today was one of those days. I looked to see what I had in the fridge and came up with this delicious, quick and easy salad.

It helps to always have some washed greens in the fridge that’s for sure. And I did have some Boston lettuce from the garden in there. I always use a salad spinner to wash lettuce and greens, then just leave it in there and put the whole thing in the fridge. It stays nice and crisp and keeps a long time in there.

I found a ripe pear, some Gorgonzola cheese and some duck bacon.

Bacon from a duck you say? I know, but it’s my new favorite thing. I LOVE the taste of this! Rich, not gamey tasting and not too salty, and I felt better after eating this than I do when I eat regular bacon, even though I always buy the good uncured, nitrate free kind. Maybe because it has half the fat of pork bacon? I don’t know but I’m addicted.

This duck bacon is also uncured, nitrate and nitrite free, from the D’Artagnan food company.  The ducks are humanely raised and free range and therefore it’s not cheap. But I find you don’t need as much of it, I used one strip of it in this salad.

For the salad:

1 pear, unpeeled or peeled if you like

1/2 head of Boston or other mild, buttery lettuce

1 strip duck bacon, cooked then sliced into thin strips

olive oil

lemon

Gorgonzola cheese, as much or as little as you like

fresh black pepper

To assemble:

First put the lettuce on the plate, drizzle with olive oil and give it a a good squeeze of lemon.

Slice the pear into nice pieces and put on top of the lettuce.

Crumble the Gorgonzola cheese over the top then add the bacon.

Finish with a generous sprinkling of black pepper. The pepper and duck bacon are perfect together.

One more squeeze of lemon over all, and that’s it.

And really, give duck bacon a try. You don’t need much and it might become a favorite. I may try crumbling it on some really good vanilla ice cream this weekend!

Serves 2

illustration by me

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Pear Salad with Duck Bacon

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pear Salad with Duck Bacon at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

