July in the Garden

July 18, 2012 § 6 Comments

 

 

 

This has been one hot and humid month! Not much rain so I’ve been watering the garden every night, something I didn’t have to do so much last year. But I have to remind myself that it is summer and the heat is good for growing vegetables. So no complaining here! (at least not that much of it)

I’ve pulled up the garlic and I picked the last of the red currants three days ago. I made some red currant vodka, scones and a small batch of jelly. I didn’t have as many this year because I was overrun with chipmunks and they were eating them before they were even ripe! Are there more chipmunks this year or is it just me?

 

 

 

The zucchini is starting now and this year I managed to keep the squash beetles away. I covered them with row covers as soon as I planted them. Then when they started to flower I removed them and spread cut mint leaves all around the flowers. It seems to be working, I haven’t seen any beetles on the blossoms…I’m keeping my fingers crossed. They can devour a blossom in no time. No blossom, no zucchini.

I’m growing celeriac this year for the first time. I love this vegetable. You can add it to green salads or make a Celery Root Remoulade, grating the peeled root, mixing it with mayo, mustard, lemon juice and salt and pepper.  Barefoot Contessa has a simple and delicious recipe.

 

  

 

 

 

In my garden now are onions, shallots, brussels sprouts, four different types of tomatoes, kale, chard, zucchini, cucumbers, beets and lettuces. Also  Gilfeather turnips, which you can only find here in Vermont. And lots of herbs, like dill, basil, parsley, cilantro, arugula.

I’m letting some of the radishes go to seed for next year and I’ll do that with some of the herbs too, like cilantro, dill and arugula. It’s easy to do, just let them flower, wait until they dry out a little, then pull the whole plant up and stick it in a paper bag, upside down, roots and all. The seeds will fall into the bag and then you just have to collect and label them.

 

Flowers have found their way into the garden and planted themselves among all these vegetables. I can’t bring myself to pull them out, even though I should. Some of it’s kind of messy, the poppies are in with the tomatoes, and there is verbena bonariensis everywhere. And Queen Anne’s lace, my absolute favorite wild flower, is in with the asparagus, which looks beautiful actually.

 

 

 

 

As I write this it’s starting to rain a little bit. The flowers, fruits, vegetables, birds and bees are very happy now. I’m hoping it keeps up all night so I’m going out to do my little rain dance now!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to July in the Garden

  • Jenny says:

    I will have to try mint leaves for the squash bugs. They are really bad in our area, so much so that some gardeners just don’t even bother with zucchini. I still work at it though. Your Queen Anne’s lace is beautiful. We have some seeds that I’m wanting to start next spring after we’ve settled.

  • Agi's Farmhouse Kitchen says:

    Hi Jenny,
    The squash bugs are really bad here too. I find covering them immediately after planting until they form a few flowers helps. Then you have to remove the covers so they can be pollinated.You probably know this! I had some mint growing right near the squash this year and noticed no bugs, so I cut it and put it on the cucumbers too…and I do this every few days also…I have a lot of mint!

  • CaraBD says:

    hi mom, can you make the pictures bigger? large images please!!!

  • glennweissel says:

    I like everything growing in your garden EXCEPT the cilantro. Something about that greenery that does not agree with my palate. LOL

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading July in the Garden at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

