Absolutely Fabulous! Chicken Liver Crostini

July 22, 2012 § 4 Comments

I know many of you won’t read much farther than the title of this post, but please, do.

I used to be one of you. As a child, we had chicken liver and other organ meats on the dinner table very often.  And I hated it. So much so that I haven’t eaten it since then. Until about a year ago.

My daughter and future son-in-law were visiting. Ryan and Cara also love food and cooking, and we had many a fun night creating delicious meals. One of the things they made was this Classic Tuscan Crostini.

I must say, when I heard this crostini was made with chicken liver, I flashed back to one of my childhood nightmares, that being liver for dinner…..but of course I had to at least taste it. It was “Fabulous” as Ina Garten always says. The livers are flavored with the wonderful taste of onions, garlic, sage and rosemary. Capers and anchovies and Parmesan to top it off.

The recipe comes from the “New Basics Cookbook“, by the authors of the Silver Palate fame. Fabulous with a glass of wine before dinner.

Now I think that if you’re still on the fence about eating anything liver-like, at least know that chicken livers are super healthy. And my mother and grandmother knew that. And yours too probably.

Besides protein, chicken livers contain B12, which helps prevent anemia, and is important for the production of red blood cells. Vit A, for your eyesight. Folate, for pregnant or planning to be pregnant women. Iron, riboflavin and selenium, for thyroid health. Oh and be sure to buy only organic and preferably pasture raised chicken livers.

So give it try, I’m glad I did.

 

Here’s the recipe :

2 TBL unsalted butter

1/4 cup olive oil

1 pound chicken livers

1 cup chopped onions

1/2 cup chicken stock

1/2 cup dry white wine

3 cloves garlic, chopped

2 tsp crumbled dried sage

2 tsp chopped fresh rosemary

freshly ground pepper to taste

3 TBL capers, drained

4 anchovy fillets

1 1/2 tsp tomato paste

Toasts made from thinly sliced French bread

olive oil for the bread

freshly grated Parmesan cheese, for garnish

Steps:

Heat olive oil and butter in a skillet over medium heat, add chicken livers and onions and cook until browned, about 10 minutes. Add the stock, wine, garlic, sage, rosemary, and pepper. Cook, stirring, until it has reduced by two thirds, about 3 to 4 minutes.

Add the capers, anchovies, and tomato paste. Stir well and cook for one minute. Transfer the mixture to a food processor or blender and puree until almost smooth.

Remove to a bowl, cover, and refrigerate at least 2 hours. Bring to room temperature for about 1/2 hour before serving.

To serve, lightly brush the toasts on one side with the olive oil and put under the broiler until just lightly browned. Spread the liver mixture on the toast and top with the Parmesan cheese.

 

Makes about 2 cups.

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Absolutely Fabulous! Chicken Liver Crostini

  • Jenny says:

    Hmm. Liverwurst was one of my first foods as a kid. It was the Oscar Mayer kind ~ definitely not a “pure” food but it did give me a taste for that sort of thing. We tried chicken livers a while back and after one bite, we were calling to have a pizza delivered. I’ve often thought maybe I just didn’t prepare them right. Maybe this is incentive to give it another go.

  • Agi's Farmhouse Kitchen says:

    Really, give it a try. I get raves when I make this, even from a 15 year old!

  • Anything from the Silver Palate authors is guaranteed to be delicious Looks perfect for my next dinner party. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Absolutely Fabulous! Chicken Liver Crostini at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

