Tuscan Kale Salad

August 9, 2012 § 4 Comments

I know, I know. Not another kale salad recipe! I feel that way too. Smoothies, salads, juices, cookies, even scrubbing your pots and taking a bath in it.

Just kidding on those last two!

So when I came across this recipe in my very well worn and over stuffed folder, I almost threw it out. Once I read through the ingredients though I knew it would be good. Better than good. It’s the only way I make kale salad now.

And the dressing is something I make extra of and use on all kinds of vegetables. I drizzle it on beautiful, ripe tomatoes or hard boiled eggs, dip sweet potato fries into it and use like mayonnaise in a sandwich.

It really is mayonnaise, same ingredients, same process. I found this recipe in Bon Appetit about a year ago and tucked it away without ever trying it. I changed it just a little, having no lemons in the house I used fresh squeezed orange juice. The process of pressing the hard boiled egg white through a strainer with a spoon, then the egg yolk is probably why I never made it. I simply put the whole egg into a food processor now. Much easier. If you’d like to see the original recipe, it’s here.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup fresh lemon or orange juice

8 anchovy fillets, packed in oil and drained

1 clove garlic, peeled

1 tsp Dijon mustard

3/4 cup olive oil

1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan or Romano cheese

salt and pepper to taste

1 hard boiled egg, peeled of course

14 oz. kale, stalks removed and thinly sliced (about 8 cups)

pine nuts, toasted

Steps:

Toast pine nuts in a dry skillet, watch carefully, they burn fast.

Combine first 4 ingredients in a blender, puree until smooth. With the machine running, slowly add oil in a slow stream. It will thicken up as you do this, like mayonnaise.Transfer to a bowl and add 1/4 cup of the Parmesan cheese. Add salt and pepper to taste and put in fridge while you assemble the salad.

Put the hard boiled egg into a food processor and whiz until finely chopped. Put aside.

Put the thinly sliced kale into a big salad bowl. (An easy way to finely slice kale is roll it up like a cigar and use a sharp knife, chop away).

Add the egg to the kale, add some dressing and toss. (The original recipe calls for using all the dressing, I think this is a bit much). Top with the rest of the Parmesan and pine nuts.

Keep extra dressing in the fridge and try it on everything.

Here are some pictures of the kale in my garden.

Kale is super high in Calcium, Vitamin A and Iron.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Tuscan Kale Salad

  • Jenny says:

    Your kale is beautiful! One of our favorites too, it grows really well here and last season I was able to coax it through the winter. We usually braise ours with bacon but tried a similar salad last spring and really enjoyed it. Bon Appetit has wonderful recipes. I reluctantly unsubscribed last year because I couldn’t store the magazines.

    • Agi's Farmhouse Kitchen says:

      Thanks Jenny. I’ve never tried overwintering it, maybe I’ll do that this year. We had such a mild winter last year, it just might make it!

  • This sounds absolutely delicious. šŸ™‚ I love kale so much, and have some favorite ways to make it, but I’m delighted to have another option. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tuscan Kale Salad at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

