Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

October 4, 2012 § 6 Comments

Soup weather is here and it’s one of the reasons I love autumn. When the weather is rainy and a little raw, like it has been the past few days, I get this urge to stand over the stove and make soup.

My kind of soups have to be easy: a little sauteing of onion, maybe garlic, add to that some chicken or vegetable broth, some vegetables, herbs, spices and simmer away. If I have leftover meat, like chicken, all the better.

At the farmer’s market I bought a big bunch of broccoli that looked really good and so when this craving for some homemade soup hit me, I reached for it. Of course I had some frozenΒ chicken stock (I hope you do too) so I knew I had the makings for it. But I wanted something else to add more flavor then just broccoli.

I searched around and found some Vermont cheddar and a few potatoes. And just like that I had the ingredients for my Broccoli and Cheddar Soup.

 

Ingredients:

olive oil for sauteing

1 medium size onion, finely chopped

4 cups chicken broth

2 or 3 potatoes, peeled and finely chopped

2 large heads broccoli, chopped (about 6 cups)

1 cup light cream or half and half

1/2 to 1 cup grated cheddar

salt and pepper

 

Heat a little olive oil, 2 to 3 TBL, and saute the chopped onion until soft and translucent (5 to 10 minutes).

Add the potatoes and stir them into the onions.

Now add the broth, bring to a boil and then simmer, covered, until potatoes are tender when pierced with a knife. This should take about 10 to 15 minutes, depending on the size of the chunks.

Add the broccoli and cream and simmer about 6 or 7 minutes until the broccoli is tender. Remove from heat.

Now take a potato masher and mash the potatoes and broccoli a bit.

Add the grated cheese, taste and add salt and pepper to your liking.

 

And that’s it. Nothing to it and so much healthier than anything out of a can!

Happy Autumn!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Broccoli and Cheddar Soup at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

