Excellent Swedish Apple Torte

December 22, 2012 § 9 Comments

IMG_1518

Christmas is coming up fast so I have to get with it here. Time to bake. I don’t want to do the traditional cookie thing, I’m not really a big fan of cookies. I don’t know why really. I just prefer cakes.

I took out my old folder with my handwritten and cut-out-from-magazines- recipes, some that predate the internet. Some of these date back to the 70’s I discovered! And there were a lot of cake recipes in there, not a single cookie recipe. Apparently I didn’t like cookies back then either!

I know some of you are probably saying “You didn’t make cookies for your children when they were little?” I did, really I did. But I’m sure I didn’t eat any of them!

I found this wonderful recipe that I haven’t made in years. But I remember it was very, very good. So good that I wrote “excellent” at the top, which I rarely do. You can see this is an oldie.

Here’s the recipe:

IMG_1529

Peel, core, and cut into eighths 4 Macintosh apples. Combine with 2 cups water  and 1/4 cup sugar. Simmer for 5 minutes and drain. Transfer to a buttered pie dish and sprinkle with a little sugar.

In a bowl cream 1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick) with 1/4 cup sugar until light and fluffy. Add to this 3/4 cup ground almonds, and the juice and grated rind of 1 lemon. The recipe called for blanched almonds, but I didn’t feel like doing that extra step. You could do it, or buy them blanched if you wanted, the taste will be the same, just a little lighter in color.

Beat in 2 egg yolks, one at a time, and beat a little bit more until nicely incorporated.

Beat 3 egg whites until stiff and fold gently into the almond mixture.

Pour this over the apples and bake 20 minutes in a 375 degree oven until lightly browned. Test with toothpick.

IMG_1511

This Torte is also gluten free. And it’s best to let this cool before you eat it, it will firm up a bit. A little dollop of whipped cream would be wonderful on this, and it’s so light you could eat it on Christmas morning!

IMG_1523

Merry Christmas Everyone!

 

illustration by me

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Excellent Swedish Apple Torte

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Excellent Swedish Apple Torte at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

