Make your own Applesauce

August 13, 2013 § Leave a comment

IMG_2579

It’s beyond easy, you’ll save money (organic applesauce is expensive!) and best of all, know exactly what you’re eating. I love applesauce. If I have some in the fridge I eat it with absolutely everything. With dinner, for breakfast with chopped walnuts and cream and just by the spoonful whenever I pass by the fridge.

I was at my sister Sheila’s house this past week and she had a beautiful apple tree in her garden, loaded with apples. So of course I asked if I could pick some. I brought them home and made up a few batches, which are now gone.

The good thing about applesauce is you don’t need perfect apples. if you find an old gnarly tree somewhere chances you can make some tasty sauce out of that otherwise funky looking fruit.

IMG_2557

It couldn’t be easier. I don’t even peel or core them. I cut out any brown or bad spots, put them in a pot with a little water in the bottom, cover, bring to boil, then simmer until tender. This usually takes about 15 minutes altogether. I have a food mill, so peels, seeds, and stems are separated from the puree (If you don’t happen to own one, just peel and core the apples, cut into chunks, then cook). I add some cinnamon and that’s it. If the apples are on the tart side I’ll stir in a little maple syrup.

Remember to add a little liquid, like water or even apple juice or cider. You can get creative here and add other fruit to this too, like peaches, or raspberries. It freezes well or you could can some to have in the winter months. And don’t forget you can bake delicious things, like muffins, applesauce cake, or this Swedish apple torte.

IMG_2583

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Make your own Applesauce at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

