The Best Pork Burgers Ever!

August 31, 2013 § Leave a comment

IMG_2732

Anyone out there that doesn’t love a good burger? Well I recently had the best burger ever. I was in Burlington, Vermont at the Guild Restaurant, known for it’s dry aged, local, grass fed steaks, and on the menu was a ” VT Heritage Grazers Pork Burger”. Sounded interesting, topped with a fried free range egg and Vermont Cheddar, but I was a little leery to try it, only because I thought it might be on the tough and dry side. But knowing how good the Guild food was, I ordered it. It was about as far from tough and dry as you could get!

So of course I had to try and recreate it in my kitchen. Lucky for us Vermonters, we can easily buy heritage, pasture raised pork, and free range eggs are everywhere. I experimented a bit because I wanted this burger to be as juicy and flavorful as the Guild’s. When I make beef burgers I don’t add anything to the meat, I just shape it, add salt and pepper and onto the grill it goes. But pork is different, somehow. I knew it needed something else. So here’s the recipe I came up with:

1 pound of the best organic, ground pork you can find, preferably pasture raised ( I do recommend buying only pasture raised pork, I’m certain it had everything to do with the flavor)

1 egg (to mix with the meat)

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 tsp crumbled dried sage (not the powdered kind)

1 large clove garlic, minced

salt and pepper, about 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper, more or less

 

Mix everything gently with your hands and shape into 2 burgers. The burgers will seem like they’re a little too moist, don’t worry.

 

You can either grill them or cook on stovetop in a preheated heavy skillet or cast iron pan, oiling both a little so meat doesn’t stick.

While the burger cooks, gently fry an egg in some olive oil until just done. You want a runny yolk to drip all over the burger.

Cook burger until it’s firm in the middle when you press your finger into it. It should be cooked through completely, no medium rare for pork.

Toast 2 brioche buns, grab some of your homemade pickles and assemble your masterpiece.

Ketchup, mustard, tomato, lettuce, some cheddar cheese, whatever you like to top the best pork burger ever!

I made some sweet potato fries with this: Peel and slice sweet potato, coat with a tablespoon of olive oil, salt and pepper, and put in hot oven, 425 degrees  for about 15 minutes.

IMG_2734

Serves 2.

 

If you’re ever in Burlington, try the Guild, and it’s sister restaurant, Farmhouse. And maybe go for a sail on beautiful Lake Champlain!

IMG_2599

 IMG_1005

IMG_2601

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Best Pork Burgers Ever! at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

