Sage, Bacon and Cheddar Cornbread

January 14, 2015 § 5 Comments

IMG_0483

IMG_0475

Today was a stay inside kind of day for me. It started out gray (as usual) and then started snowing a little bit. I had a few things in mind for dinners throughout the week and for some reason just decided to cook them all.

I started off with a sort-of stew of braised oxtails with fennel. As that was in the oven I started a version of pot roast, with lots of onions, red wine and tomatoes. Then I put a big pot of beef stock on to simmer, using up some leftover bones from the freezer and adding some fresh ones to it. That’s been simmering all day and will be for another few days.

I still needed some cooking therapy I guess so cornbread came to mind. I wanted to jazz it up a bit, so I added bacon, cheddar cheese, sautéed onions and sage to an otherwise plain cornbread recipe.  I used a cast iron pan to cook the bacon and onions in and then kept it hot as I made the batter, then spooned it on top. Once it came out of the oven I felt the urge to add even more cheddar, (probably because I’d been nibbling on some the whole time) so I sprinkled another 1/2 cup on as it cooled, making a nice cheesy glaze.

IMG_0489

This is best served warm. To reheat the next day, wrap in foil and place in hot oven for about 10 minutes. Or, I like to melt a little butter in a pan and add some slices of cornbread to it. Makes a great breakfast, topped with a fried or poached egg.

IMG_0500

Ingredients:

3 pieces bacon, cut into pieces

1 large onion, sliced

3/4 cup cornmeal

1 cup flour, I use white spelt

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese

2 eggs

1/2 cup milk

3/4 cup sour cream

2 Tbl butter, melted

1/4 cup cheddar, grated, for top

dried sage for top

 

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In a cast iron pan, about 8″, cook the bacon until almost done, remove to a plate.

Add the sliced onions to the pan, adding more fat to the pan if you need it. Cook until golden.

Put the bacon back in with the onions, and keep the pan warm while you mix up the batter. You could put in the oven but keep an eye on it.

In a separate bowl, combine all the dry ingredients. Add the grated cheddar.

In another bowl, beat the eggs, then add the milk, butter and sour cream.

Add wet to dry, mix.

Spoon into the hot pan with the bacon and onions, sprinkle crumbled dried sage over the top.

Bake about 15 minutes, until tester comes out dry.

Remove from oven and immediately sprinkle with the 1/4 cup grated cheddar.

 

IMG_0490

 

I’ll be giving you the recipes for the oxtail stew and pot roast soon…..oh one more thing…I also made the chickens a treat: melted some old peanut butter, added some seeds, oats, and grains then popped it into the freezer for tomorrow’s treat….think I’m done for this day!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Sage, Bacon and Cheddar Cornbread

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sage, Bacon and Cheddar Cornbread at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

