Rhubarb BBQ Sauce

June 1, 2015 § 3 Comments

 

 

IMG_1185

IMG_3347

Rhubarb time again and what haven’t I tried to make with it?

Rhubarb is one of the first things to pop out of the ground in the spring and then I’m on to making scones, muffins and all kinds of desserts and baked things. This year I wanted to do something savory with it again. I’ve made Rhubarb Chutney before, the recipe is here on my blog, and I’ve added it to a pan sauce to spoon over chicken. I’ve got so much rhubarb that it’s time to try something new again.

My rhubarb patch is turning into a monster. I might have to divide and move it this fall as it’s right in the middle of my garden. When I planted it originally the garden was very small and it sat at the edge, but now it’s really in the way. It stares at me every time I visit the garden and calls out “please use me!”

IMG_1180

 

So I being one who likes homemade as much as possible decided to give Rhubarb BBQ sauce a try. The combination of the tart fruit (although it is technically a vegetable) mixed into the dark and smoky flavors of the sauce just might be delicious enough to eat with a spoon.

Besides eating it out of the jar, slather it on grilled chicken, ribs and vegetables too. Try grilling eggplant and basting with sauce.  Use as a replacement for ketchup on a burger. Try it on sandwiches too, or mixed into baked beans.

So if you’ve got your own patch or even if you don’t, here’s the recipe.

Ingredients:

6 stalks rhubarb, cleaned and trimmed and chopped

3/4 cup water

2 large shallots, minced

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups ketchup ( organic and without HFCS* if possible)

1/4 cup maple syrup

2 TBL molasses

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

2 TBLS  mustard

1 TBL Tabasco

1 tsp Liquid Smoke (this is good stuff)

 

First, simmer the chopped rhubarb in the water until soft, about 5 minutes. Set aside.

In a saucepan, heat a small amount of olive oil, add the shallots and garlic and sauté a few minutes.

Add the remaining ingredients and bring to a boil slowly. Reduce heat and continue simmering until sauce is thick and dark, about 10 to 15 minutes.

Let cool, then add the cooked rhubarb to it.

This sauce will be a little chunky, so if you like your BBQ sauce smooth just puree in food processor a few seconds.

Makes about 4 cups and will keep for months in the fridge.

 

IMG_1183

 

 

 

 

 

* High Fructose Corn Syrup

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Rhubarb BBQ Sauce

  • susan says:

    Your timing for posting this recipe couldn’t have been better! I have a bumper crop of rhubarb this year and just found three pints of homemade ketchup I had forgotten! I’m making this this weekend.

  • Karen says:

    Look at that rhubarb, it’s huge. I’ve not cooked with rhubarb but I can just imagine how the tart stalks added lots of flavor to your sauce.

  • Jen says:

    Love all of the rhubarb recipes! Just made the BBQ and it is delicious! Will be onto the other rhubarb recipes over the next few days, I have it coming out of my ears!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rhubarb BBQ Sauce at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta

