No Knead Artisan Bread

May 15, 2013 § 6 Comments

IMG_1997

If you love a good loaf of artisan bread but don’t have the time or desire to stand there kneading bread for 15 minutes, try this recipe. Time and the oven do all the work.

I know it’s is all over the internet, but I still have friends who haven’t heard of it and ask me for the recipe, so this is for them. This is truly the easiest baking you will ever do. I takes about 3 minutes to stir the ingredients together, then you cover it and let it rise overnight, about 12 to 16 hours. No kneading. Then you bake. What is easier than that?

I’ll give you the basic recipe here, but there are so many things you can add to make this even better. I’ve done many delicious versions of this. Here are some to try:

Half whole spelt flour or rye flour

Half Einkorn flour, an ancient wheat low in gluten

Roasted garlic and rosemary

Cheddar cheese and thyme

Sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, pumpkin seeds ( about 1/2 cup each) I’ve added all in one loaf, delicious!

Sprouted grains like spelt or farro ( soak overnight in water, then drain before adding to the flour mixture)

Romano cheese and olive

Dried cranberries and walnuts or sliced almonds (orange zest is great in this too)

Sprinkled with a flaky sea salt

I don’t really measure the amounts of these, just a good handful will do, more or less, to your taste. One thing though, you need a Dutch oven or large stainless steel pot with lid. Make sure it can withstand the high heat, no wooden handles or knobs.

IMG_1847

Basic recipe:

3 cups all purpose flour, organic if possible

1 1/2 tsp good salt

1/2 tsp dry yeast

1 1/2 cups water

Mix all together in a large bowl with wooden spoon until combined. Add any extra ingredients in with this now.

IMG_1903

Cover with plastic wrap and set aside for 12 to 16 hours. (I put it in my oven, not turned on). The next day it will look like this, doubled and bubbly.

IMG_2018

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. When it’s ready, put your Dutch oven in with the lid, and heat for 30 minutes. Don’t need to grease it. While it’s heating, flour your hands and take the dough out of the bowl. Shape into a round loaf, remember, no kneading!

IMG_1904

Let it rest, covered with plastic wrap on a floured board for the 30 minutes that the pot is heating.

IMG_1905

When the buzzer goes off and 30 minutes is up, remove lid (remember your potholder!) and plop the bread into the hot pot. Put the lid back on and bake for 30 minutes.

IMG_1996

After 30 minutes, remove lid. (Now is the time to sprinkle generously with sea salt if you like). The bread will have risen quite a bit, bake it for another 15 minutes. This last 15 minutes will give it that nice brown crust. That’s 45 minutes total baking time.

And that is it. Hot, crusty, golden brown homemade artisan bread, from your own oven.

A few tips:

I haven’t tried using all whole grain flour yet, when you substitute for the all purpose flour it doesn’t rise quite as much. I find using 1/2 all purpose works fine.

Be careful of the hot lid! I burned myself after taking the lid off (after the first 30 minutes of baking) and forgot it was hot, really hot! Now I leave my potholder on it to remind me.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to No Knead Artisan Bread

  • Jenny says:

    I have a recipe very similar using all spelt. We love it. Soooo easy especially now that the garden is kicking into high gear. I’d love to try einkorn wheat sometime.

  • Hi Jenny, I’ll try your recipe with the all spelt flour, don’t really like using all purpose if I don’t have to. Thanks!

  • Renee says:

    This recipe is on my must-bake list! Everyone raves about it so. How big is your dutch oven? I have one but afraid it might be too small.

  • Hmmm….that’s a good question. I’d guess it’s the 4 to 5 qt. size. But there’s plenty of room left in it when the bread rises, you might be able to use yours. Do try it, it’s so easy!

  • themuralistics@gmail.com says:

    Hi I know you posted this great recipe some time ago but I’ve just tried to make it and have a question. I made the basic dough and at the end added garlic and romano cheese. I then let it sit for 14 hours. When I tried to shape it this morning it was loose and sticky and hold no shape. Any advice on what I might have done wrong?

    • Agi says:

      A lot depends upon the flour you used. When I used mostly spelt or Einkorn flour it ended up like that also. Using at least 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour in the recipe should give you a dough that you can shape and doesn’t turn into a big unworkable blob. Another thought is not to use too much cheese, half a cup (not packed) at the most. Hope this helps, please let me know if you still have a problem.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading No Knead Artisan Bread at Farmhouse Kitchen.

meta